What is the Minimum Amount of Auto Insurance Needed in Utah?
Car insurance is one of those areas of life that can be complicated, but you know it’s necessary in order to protect you and your finances in the event of an accident. It is such a valuable necessity, in fact, that most states these days require it by law. Is car insurance required in Utah? Yes, it is. So, what is the minimum amount of auto insurance needed in Utah? Let’s go over some of the details.
Utah Car Insurance Requirements
According to the Utah DMV, no-fault insurance is required if the owner/operator of the passenger vehicle is a Utah resident and if the owner is a non-resident of Utah who then operates a motor vehicle physically inside Utah for 90 days during the preceding 365 days while the vehicle remains in the state. All such insurance policies must maintain owner/operator security, which is to say liability coverage, during the entire registration period. Another important note: All drivers must keep proof of insurance whenever driving in case law enforcement situations arise where an officer needs to verify that you have coverage.
If you are found to be driving around without car insurance here in Utah, there will certainly be consequences. You would likely have your vehicle’s registration suspended and could be fined at least $400 for a first offense and $1,000 for a second offense. You could also have your driver’s license suspended until you are insured.
Furthermore, the bare minimum coverage you must have in Utah is $25,000 for bodily injury per person per accident, $65,000 for bodily injury for all persons per accident, $15,000 for property damage liability, $3,000 for personal injury protection (PIP), and $25,000/$65,000 for uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
The bottom line here is, it is absolutely necessary to carry motor vehicle insurance for your automobile here in Utah according to the state law. Shopping for insurance can be a hassle, and it’s not exactly a barrel of laughs, but it is much better than having your registration or license suspended while paying fines. So, make sure when you finance your next automobile, you get that insurance right away!